Attempting to Board the Mass Effect Bandwagon

For what feels like the fourteenth time over the past few weeks, the collective hive mind of the gaming side of Twitter once again went berserk, as a brand new trailer was revealed for the upcoming Mass Effect Andromeda.

And now to get this out of the way: if you couldn’t already tell from the title of this piece, let me confirm your fear of me never having even given the Mass Effect trilogy I second thought until now.

Don’t get me wrong, a space-faring RPG from the makers of Dragon Age sounds incredible, but the entire Mass Effect trilogy first started up back when I was still playing Pokemon on a daily basis, and nothing else outside of that.

As a result, by the time I’d first heard of the Mass Effect games everyone was bitching and moaning over the end of the third game, as though the developers had kicked in their front door, forcibly taken $60 from their wallet, given them the finger, and then walked straight out again.

image-adaptive-full_-medium

The uproar was enough to put me off the game series for a good few years, and even now I automatically begin to zone out whenever anyone on a podcast or video brings up the supposedly ‘shocking’ (or fantastic, depending on who you’re listening to) ending of the third game.

But, I’m now faced with a very particular conundrum. Do I, never having played any of the Mass Effect games before, purchase the entire trilogy through Xbox One backwards compatibility, and in the process sacrifice week, maybe months of my life? Or do I simply continue on in blissful ignorance, and play Andromeda in March with all the callbacks to the original trilogy sailing way over my head?

No, it’s not exactly a life threatening situation, but it is something I’ve been weighing up in my mind for a while, ever since some folk over on the Twitter decided to have a meltdown about the possibility of banging some characters seen in the trailers for Andromeda.

Aside from all of this, there’s the question of whether I even could make it through the entire trilogy in time for the release of Andromeda on March 23, with a dozen other games to play in the mean time, including Horizon: Zero Dawn, NieR Automata and all five of those games that launch alongside the Nintendo Switch.

mass_effect_andromeda_wide_art_2.jpg

This seemingly petty (editor’s note: definitely petty) article will probably speak to more people than I first envisaged when putting this piece together. I’ll bet that for every three people ‘hyped’ about Andromeda, there’s one person out there that doesn’t have a clue what everyone’s going on about, but still feels as though they should play the game when it comes out.

Jumping on the fan train, especially when said train is already full to the brim, is hard enough, even more so when considering the rabid fan base that the Mass Effect games have managed to accumulate over the years.

So what’s a guy/girl to do? Plunge into the abyss that is the Mass Effect trilogy, with just under two months to go, or wait for the release of Andromeda, taking a more ‘ignorance is bliss’ type approach to the game?

Thank you for making it this far into these ramblings of a madman, and I’d be grateful for any advice that any seasoned Mass Effect veterans could offer me.

Leave a Reply

