It’s a Good Time to be a Tomb Raider!

The actual act of tomb raiding isn’t one that’s usually  looked upon with awe in society. Imagine if, upon asked what you were going to do today, you responded with “raiding a few tombs mate, how about you?”

Nothing good would come of that conversation, that’s for sure.

But perhaps we can make a slight exception to Lara Croft, or more specifically, Alicia Vikander! That’s right, in case you’ve been living under a rock (or just haven’t checked Twitter) for the past few hours, Vikander is set to take on the role of Croft in the upcoming Tomb Raider film.

And as a Tomb Raider fan, I honestly couldn’t be more stoked about this announcement. Now, considering I’m usually taking on the ‘cynical prick’ role with practically any announcement relating to video games, this is saying quite something.

It mainly speaks to how much Tomb Raider has won me over in the past few years, ever since the reboot in 2013 took me completely by surprise. Before then I hadn’t even played a Tomb Raider game, and I went into the reboot with expectations considerably low.

I’m sure you’ll be surprised to hear that my expectations were completely shattered upon playing merely half an hour of the game, and I think I can fairly confidently state that Tomb Raider’s biggest selling point was it’s leading lady: Lara Croft.

I may not have played a Tomb Raider game prior to the 2013 reboot, but there’s not doubt that it was the shot of adrenaline that the franchise so badly needed. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m fairly certain that the movie reboot was pushed for due to the success of the game.

And now today, after many years of waiting and hoping for a new Tomb Raider movie, my prayers were finally answered. That’s not to say my prayers weren’t answered when the movie was actually announced, there’s just a far higher chance of it actually getting made with Vikander, who’s hot off the heels of an Oscar win.

So, this leads to the question: what kind of Tomb Raider movie do we want? Do we want something more gritty and realistic, in line with the reboot of the game? Or would we perhaps rather a film more over-the-top in it’s action sequences and set pieces?

If I had to pick between the two, I’d probably go with the gritty, realistic film. Heck, frame for frame reenact the game reboot for all I care, at least we’d practically be guaranteed to receive a good film that way.

BUT, consider the target audience for a moment. I know, I know, they’re all cretins, but consider the general public nevertheless, because they’re the ones that the film adaptation of Tomb Raider will inevitably have to win over for it to stand a chance of being a financial success.

Bearing this in mind, is it really viable to do a gritty reboot, run the risk of having it rated 15 or above, and therefore cut out a significant portion of the audience? Even though that sounds like a recipe for financial disaster, that’s still the film I’d far rather see than the Mission Impossible-esque take on the franchise.

Anyway, rambling over, I’m sure you’ve all got far better things to do anyway. I know I have, because I’m going to replay both Tomb Raider games while picturing Alicia Vikander in the lead role.

Sorry Camilla.

Leave a Reply

