Game of Thrones: Episode 6, The Ice Dragon – Review

Well, this was quite something.

I’m not sure what to make of the entire Game of Thrones series, if I’m honest. On one hand, you were given life or death situations (literally) with control over an entire family. On the other, it was crippled by hamfisted dialogue and storytelling, as well as a forced adherence to the TV series of the same name.

And with this episode, for better or worse, the series has come to a close. The 2 hour long ride, complete with blood, gore and semi-important choices forced the player into a corner, and then only gave them a limited number of ways in which to claw their way out.

One of the low points of the series, Mira Forrester’s path, was given particular attention this time around. Depending on the choice of the player, a lot of things came back to haunt Mira, and I’m fairly sure I unintentionally managed to get the worst ending possible for the handmaiden.

And honestly, I can’t say I was that bothered about her actual fate. Mira was never a particularly likeable character in any way, and with the choice to put your neck on the line made available here, you’d think there’d be some actual payoff for her. But no, ever single one of the friends you’ve made at King’s Landing, no matter how much you’ve helped them, turns their back on you in the end. In a choice based game you need to be rewarded occasionally for many risks, and I never was.

Gared and his motley crew ended up stumbling upon the North Grove, and had varying degrees of success while there. I won’t spoil much, but you’re presented with a choice at the very end for which you have absolutely no knowledge of what you’re deciding the fate of. Such a dilemma only makes me think the developers wanted the players to make a certain choice, and it’s very shrewdly presented here.

Back home at Ironwrath, things ended in the worst possible way for me. Again, no spoilers here, but ended up making some choices that the game really wanted me to regret making. But I honestly can’t say that I cared that much about the fate of House Forrester at the end of the day. All we’ve had from them are arguments and personal strife all season long, which really hampers your ability to feel any emotional attachment towards these characters.

In the end, I’m 99% sure I got the worst ending possible in each different location. The way this was told to me, through characters such as Ramsay and Cersei monologuing was incredibly badly done, almost out of character, even.

Again, I can’t say Game of Thrones honestly made me care about any of the characters enough to make my choices impact on me as the player. At the end of the day, I looked around at all the carnage I’d caused in one way or another, and shrugged. This is what bad character design will do to a game.

The way the finale plays out, Telltale are definitely leaving open the possibility for a sequel series. And I really, really wish they wouldn’t bother. Focus on what makes you great (The Walking Dead, The Wolf Among Us) and forget about this failed attempt at a Game of Thrones tie in series.

Score: 4/10

Leave a Reply

