Satoru Iwata Has Passed Away Aged 55

Nintendo President Satoru Iwata has passed away at the age of 55, due to a ‘bile duct growth.’

The world-renowned innovator was appointed director of Nintendo back in 2000, and soon after rose to be President of the company just two years later, following the resignation of then-President Hiroshi Yamauchi. He also assumed responsibility as the leader of Nintendo of America just two years ago.

There had been concerns over Iwata’s health for years, particularly so when he was forced to miss last years E3 over health concerns, and to have a bile duct removed through surgery. Mr. Iwata also missed this years E3 and stayed in Japan, although he was still a part of the hilarious Muppets sketch that opened the company’s conference.

Satoru Iwata gained prominence within Nintendo through his outgoing attitude as President towards different videogames, stating that “On my business card, I am a corporate President. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer” Iwata even took a 50% pay cut last year, as a result of Nintendo’s disappointing financial year.

I won’t pretend to be a particularly big Nintendo fan (the only game I’ve played in recent memory is Mario Kart on the Wii), however it was through Pokemon Emerald just over a decade ago, that I was first introduced to videogames. The ability to be another person in another, entirely different world is what truly captured my imagination, and for that, my thanks go out to Mr. Satoru Iwata, and the legacy he leaves at Nintendo and within videogames as a whole.

Leave a Reply

